Top of the page

I tend to be all about the words. Certainly this blog does. The design matters less to me. I only see the blog through the WordPress editor, which is a delightful mix of blue, sky blue and white. The headline image you see at the top of the page shows a set of sculptures at the harbour in Dysart, near Kirkcaldy in Fife, taken in September last year. They are a set of posts, created by Donald Urquhart. Each of them is painted a slightly different shade of blue or grey to reflect the colours of the sea at different times of the year. According to Dysart Community Council, the beams themselves are meant to evoke the masts of ships that were once docked there.

What you don’t see is the rather beautiful view from Dysart across the Forth to Edinburgh and East Lothian. I have written here before about my love of that view. I definitely think the Fifers get a better deal than those in the Lothians. From there, it is possible to see all the way from the Bass Rock to the Pentland Hills without turning your head. That includes Edinburgh, with Arthur’s Seat more angular and Salisbury Crags more prominent than it seems in the capital itself.

IMAG0625.jpg
That view.

That particular night was quite hazy. It was the night before they knocked down the chimneys at Cockenzie Power Station so it was my last glimpse of those.

IMAG0651.jpg
Dysart Harbour

I first discovered Dysart several years ago on a visit to Kirkcaldy Art Gallery, one of my favourite art galleries in Scotland. The Art Gallery was closed that day so I decided to go for a walk along the coast. I found Ravenscraig Park and first headed along to the castle, sitting atop a cliff. Then I decided to follow the coast along a bit, just to see where I ended up. Soon after descending the steps to the Fife Coastal Path, the view across the Forth opened up. Dysart came soon later and I sat there awhile, admiring the sculptures and the 16th century houses that sit on the shoreline. Every so often, I go back to do the same and I have never been disappointed.

 

Leave a Reply

