Winter seascape

I was just looking back at some of my photos from past day trips and jaunts and came across one taken on my recent trip down south, taken in St. Pancras Station in London. It is taken from a poem called ‘Winter Seascape’ by John Betjeman:

IMAG1312

‘Here where the cliffs alone prevail

I stand exultant, neutral, free,

And from the cushion of the gale

Behold a huge, consoling sea’.

It sometimes takes a few weeks of thinking about other things to fully appreciate something. Poetry tends to do that to you. A train station in the heart of a city a fair distance from the sea feels a lot further from anywhere where ‘the cliffs alone prevail’. This might take some thinking through. All I know is, I quite fancy going down to the ‘huge, cushioning sea’, whatever the weather I find there, the stormier the better.

Leave a Reply

