Leith walk

The Hibs fixture schedule at the moment has a fair few midweek games, so I am able to go, even though they are in Edinburgh and I don’t get home until midnight despite work the next morning. What you do when you are insane. Anyway, as this post is published, I will be at Easter Road again, watching Hibs play Falkirk. Last Tuesday night, I headed to the capital to see Hibs beat Livingston 2-1, courtesy of goals from Anthony Stokes and an absolute screamer of a free kick from Martin Boyle (who Alan Stubbs needs to put in the team with the minimum of delay). It was a gorgeous night in the capital. I had headed through on the bus, which took nearly 2 hours due to the evening rush hour, but still had time to kill before heading to the ground. I went to a rather fine chippy on Leith Street to get a king rib supper, covered in salt and sauce, naturally, and ate it walking up Leith Walk. I wasn’t in any hurry, trying to avoid too much indigestion while just enjoying a city walk. I walked up the Walk right up to the Foot then turned right past the Tesco and back up Easter Road, soon ending up in Albion Road. I always like walking past what used to be called the Boundary Bar in Pilrig, which denotes the old border between Edinburgh and Leith, which was an independent burgh until 1920. Apparently there were different licensing laws at either side of the bar, which drinkers took full advantage of.

I also like traces of old shop signs and saw an interesting one above the wonderfully-named ‘Elvis Shakespeare’.

IMAG1513

For a change, I decided to sit in a different part of the ground than normal. Usually I sit right at the top of the East Stand, which affords a cracking view of the action (or otherwise, depending on the game). On Tuesday, I sat instead in the Famous Five Stand, otherwise known as the North Stand, and was rewarded by a great sunset with the resulting light cast across the ground. Right until the sun went down, I also got a great view of the summit of Arthur’s Seat, watching folk walk up and stand and stare, making sure I myself didn’t confuse them with the trig point that’s up there. There was of course a game to watch too.

IMAG1519
Easter Road. Arthur’s Seat is above the South Stand on the right
IMAG1518
Easter Road
IMAG1524
More Easter Road. I love the shadows of the Albion Road rooftops reflecting on the side of the stands.
Leave a Reply

