Graceful

dscn1696

On this momentous day in history, I cannot help thinking of ‘The West Wing’, as I often do in many situations, and a quote from President Bartlet in the first of the two episodes showing his second inauguration. It is ‘Grace is but glory begun and glory is but grace perfected’, which is not in fact Biblical but the work of the 18th century Protestant theologian Jonathan Edwards. There are not many things that are truly graceful. I am not one of them, I have to say, but for this week’s photo challenge, I have chosen a photograph that sums up graceful for me, calm, still, reflective and elegant. It was taken in the autumn of last year in Dysart in Fife and shows the harbour there looking out towards the Firth of Forth and Edinburgh beyond. The reflection of the clouds on the harbour water reminds me of clouds in Monet paintings. It is a beautiful place to be on any day, especially that one.

One thought on “Graceful

Leave a Reply

