Cambridge tumbling

For a while, this blog had a spinoff on Tumblr, which I used quite like Twitter, as a place to share but more often to read what others have put on. I deleted it because keeping up with this blog was hard enough. Anyway, recently I was scrolling through Tumblr posts and encountered a few that featured particularly flattering photographs of Cambridge, a place I have now been to twice, in October 2015 and February 2016 – the posts about Cambridge are Bus stop sighting, RememberingSightsBooks and thatMore holiday thoughts – museums and Lighter side. The photographs, which featured Silver Street, the Fitzwilliam Museum, the area around King’s College and the River Cam, made me pine and want to go back again. It’s not the first time that has ever happened – I see photographs of many places and think ‘I need to be there as a matter of urgency’. Usually, it is a fleeting moment of thought. The place is either visited very promptly or about two years later. Cambridge probably won’t be visited too soon. It’s nothing personal against the place – it is beautiful and ancient and I would be back there in a heartbeat. It is a matter of practicality, Cambridge is 355 miles from here, reachable by air and train, certainly, but I can’t do trips down there every week or even every month, as I can with Edinburgh or wherever. Oxford is higher-up on the list despite being harder to reach because I have never been there before.

So, in the meantime, here are some photographs of Cambridge just to make me more keen to go back and to remind us of why it is such a cool place.

DSCN0322
Near the Cam

DSCN0426
Fitzwilliam Museum

DSCN0444
Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology

DSCN0423
Fitzwilliam Museum

DSCN0432
Fitzwilliam Museum

DSCN0439
Cambridge
 

Leave a Reply

