Cathkin Park

I’ve written here before about Cathkin Park, a former football ground in the south side of Glasgow where the terracing is now blending into the landscape. Now I don’t work in that part of the city any more, I don’t get there as often as I used to. The other day I went across and spent a few minutes walking around the perimeter before crossing the pitch itself, walking from one side to another, pausing briefly to stand and stare from the centre circle. I thought as usual about what it would be like if my club was no longer but also about what if Cathkin was still a functioning league ground. Instead of Scotland hosting a friendly with Canada at a not even half full Easter Road last week, it might have been held at Cathkin instead, a ground much smaller than Hampden just over the hill. I stood behind the goal and imagined modern boxy stands instead of open terracing. I know there are plans to redevelop Cathkin but probably not to that extent. As this recent article rightly says, it still smells and feels just like a football ground. That’s why I like it.

IMG_3308IMG_3312IMG_3317IMG_3318IMG_3313

One thought on “Cathkin Park

Leave a Reply

