Following

The River Tweed by Dryburgh Abbey
I’ve been reading a bit lately about why people follow blogs. As a blogger of nearly two years, I read a lot of other blogs. I didn’t used to until I started Walking Talking. I follow a grand total of 140 blogs and most of them I follow through my WordPress Reader. Some of them I get e-mail updates for weekly, a select few as soon as a post is published. There are some who say that people follow blogs to get traffic for their own blog. I don’t do that. When I used to post photos for the WordPress challenges, I got some new readers that way. Nowadays I get random likes for posts I’ve published, usually soon after they’re published. Some are familiar names, others aren’t. I decide which ones to read, like or follow (or all three) on a case-to-case basis. I have exactly one rule, namely, if I enjoy what I read, then I’ll read more. I don’t follow or like blogs to get other people to read mine. If people like what I write, great. If not, then there are other things out there on the Internet.

Looking through the blogs I follow, there is considerable diversity, blogs about football, Scotland, psychogeography, museums, autism, London, libraries, writing and plenty of other things besides. I spend a little time every day catching up with my Reader and like and follow based on my whims. Occasionally I get ideas from reading other blogs, for example with a recent post called ‘Introverted roads‘ which was inspired by the psychogeography blog Edinburgh Drift, or the monthly digests I nicked from The Glasgow Gallivanter. A post I wrote recently which mentioned a concept called ‘the urban imaginary’ came from a comment left by the blogger behind the very interesting lullueblog. I am a reader and new ideas excite me. Being a human being not all of my own ideas are winners; that’s why other people are worth listening to. That’s why they’re better.

We spend so much time in our days staring at a screen that having a filter is desirable a lot of the time. My sole yardmark is quality. It’s undefinable, for the most part, but most of what makes something good isn’t easy to describe. That’s fine with me.

In that spirit, then, I am off for the next 10 days or so and I’m taking a break from blogging over that time too. In the meantime go out and be in the world. If you can’t do that read a book. I intend to do a bit of both.

9 thoughts on “Following

  1. I’ve acquired nearly 300 blogs to follow – I think a cull is in order! I don’t use the Reader, I use Feedly so I don’t show up as a follower, but I’m there. I try to visit at least once every blogger who visits me, but sometimes I just can’t see a connection and have nothing to say in return. I do feel guilty about that, though I’m trying not to. Have a god break.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello,
      Thanks! This is day one of the time off. Maybe some writing will happen then again maybe not!

      I agree that sometimes it isn’t possible to see commonality though it is nice when it happens!

      I haven’t investigated Feedly yet. It might be a useful filtering system. I did a cull a few months ago as my inbox was getting clogged.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree. I always like to check out the blogs of those who like or follow my work, but it feels forced to follow someone if they write (however well) about something that does not interest me. Enjoy your blog vacation.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I blog in order to see how others live. It’s a fascinating world! But, I agree, keeping up and following others is time consuming but I have my favorite ‘treats’ I like to linger over.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes, I too read a blog if I like what is written and it touches my heart. I like to read about the everyday life of people and some bloggers make ordinary situations so interesting. Have a good break.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

